California DDS, RDH and RDA Dental CE Requirements

California DDS, RDH and RDA Dental CE Requirements

Posted by Dental Didactics CE on Jun 27th 2022

California Dental CE Requirements

We receive a lot of inquiries at Dental Didactics CE regarding the CE requirements for license renewal for California dentists (DDS, DMD), dental hygienists (RDH), and dental assistants (RDA). There are 2 aspects to this;

1) The total number of hours (units) of dental CE required for each license renewal period

2) Specific CE courses that must be completed during each license renewal period (dental professionals are required to re-take these courses during every license renewal period for as long as they practice)

The following are the total number of CE hours (units) required each renewal period per license type:

(50% of these units may be taken online as self-instructional correspondence courses) Dental CE

Dentist (DDS, DMD)-  50

Registered Dental Hygienist (RDH)- 25

Registered Dental Assistant (RDA)- 25

RDA in Extended Functions (RDAEF)- 25

Orthodontic Assistant Permit (OA)- 25

The following are specific dental CE courses that are required to be taken during every license renewal period. Dental professionals can sign up for these mandatory courses through the links below:

California Dental Practice Act (2 hours) CA Practice Act course

Dental Infection Control (2 hours) Dental Infection Control course

OSHA Review (required yearly by Cal-OSHA) OSHA Review course

Basic Life Support (BLS) must be taken "live" in person (4 hours max.)

California Dental CE Approved Providers

To be accepted for CE credit by the Board, you must ensure that you have taken the course from an approved mandatory course provider. Such providers are California Dental Board or AGD-PACE approved.

Dental Didactics CE is a California Dental Board Registered Provider: RP3768

Dental Didactics CE is an AGD-PACE Nationally approved Provider: #217643